Wanderings with Kate
Wanderings with Kate Podcast
Life as a Long Distance Run
1
Preview
0:00
-1:15

Life as a Long Distance Run

Episode 3 of the Poetry and Prose Project Radio Program, hosted by GARY EVERY that aired on Mellow Mountain Radio 106.5 Fm and 780 AM, Sedona, Arizona. (August 25th, 2024)
1

This was originally posted here as text only on Feb 10th. I have been beyond busy with the premier of the movie No Reception (in which I was an actress), 5 days at a (very hot) desert hot spring and now in Oregon visiting friends and family. I remembered I had this recording (thank you Gary) and so am sharing it until the new material emerges this coming week.

A few pics what I have been doing and about which writing will come - and a great shot of the Sedona Half Mararthon, Credit David Jolkovski,Larson Newspapers.


Please share and consider a paid subscription as the wanderings continue, to read/hear all the posts - audio, video and just plain old written word!

AND NOW THE AUDIO WRITING…

A week ago I ran the Sedona 1/2 Marathon - 13.1miles. It wasn't the first time. The first year I arrived in Sedona (2008) it took 2hrs5 minutes, in 2014 - 2hr25minutes and now ten years later, it took 2hrs38 minutes. I wasn't getting faster and I was getting older!

I was home by 11, showered and went about my day - deskwork, cleaned horse yards. Treated myself to a huge hamburger from Colts Grill to bring home for dinner. And broke Dry January with a beer. It was a good day in spite of the cold and getting up way earlier than I usually do for anything let alone to go for a run! (I'm a sunny day, singlet-top, shorts kind of runner.)

Listen to this episode with a 7-day free trial

Subscribe to Wanderings with Kate to listen to this post and get 7 days of free access to the full post archives.

Wanderings with Kate
Wanderings with Kate Podcast
Poetry, prose, thoughts to inspire, provoke and encourage.
Listen on
Substack App
RSS Feed
Appears in episode
Kate Hawkes