Wanderings with Kate
Wanderings with Kate Podcast
ARIZONA SUMMER SNAPSHOTS
1
0:00
-3:06

ARIZONA SUMMER SNAPSHOTS

4 short poems
1

Summer Light Eagle

This desert light arrives softly in the cool morning.

Then, almost unnoticed, spreads out her huge wings of gold

Blinding us all with her intensity and strength

Before she reluctantly relinquishes her hold

To rest in darkness, preparing for flight again tomorrow.

8.2016

Monsoon Dance

Black clouds shimmy into the blue under the gold day

Torrents of rivers on my roof, beat their tarantella.

Trees sway, bow low; chimes dance like dervishes.

It Stops!

Steaming roads seduce mesmerized tarantulas.

6.30.24

The Trails

The trails follow the curves of their land where-ever it leads

Up and down, across washes, over rocks and around bends -

Unmoved by heat, pools filled by monsoon and scents released.

Marked by bikes, boots and runners - until all of it - by force -

The mighty heat suspends.

The trails lie quietly in the long hot day

With only lizards, bees and quail for company.

They swallow whole the water when it crashes down.

Then open their secrets to the evening crowd, walking out

Into their fresh beauty.

6.30.24

Night Heat

Shining profusely in clear skies

Or hidden under the loitering monsoon doyenne,

Stars, planets and solar systems pierce the blanket of heat

Remind me there are worlds beyond this one.

But this is the one I have now.

And this harsh corner dares me by her stubborn resilience.

I will love it all through heat and water, wind and drought,

My steps to our future fed by her endurance.

My Arizona summer, I'll see you in the morning.

Now, to rest in darkness, preparing for flight again tomorrow.

6.30.24

Photos (clockwise from topL) Dan Lefebvre; Raychel Sanner; Clarisse Meyer (on Unsplash) and Trailchick.com


I was inspired to create this little collection after reading some by

right here on Substack. (If you don’t know him yet, he is a powerful, funny, thoughtful and always interesting writer.) The first of these was written in 2016 and today I added 3 more to make a little story. I live in the desert and it’s toughness and beauty inspires me not to quit on the days I feel exhausted and hopeless. On the days I don’t feel like that? I just enjoy it!

Wanderings with Kate is a reader-supported publication. To receive new posts and support my work, consider becoming a free or paid subscriber.

PS. I am sharing this once with Free subscribers as a ‘Try the Podcast’ gift. Please consider a paid subscription to be sure you get the next one. :)

Discussion about this podcast

Wanderings with Kate
Wanderings with Kate Podcast
Poetry, prose, thoughts to inspire, provoke and encourage.
Listen on
Substack App
RSS Feed
Appears in episode
Kate Hawkes